I am not an expert on the magnificent plant. The reason for this deviousness is that the male flowers don’t bloom until a few days after the female flowers. After the period of dormancy, the plant develops either a single leaf or a blossom. Thanks for putting this together. An interesting note about the blooming process is that these plants are notoriously fickle and unpredictable. A hole was cut in the base of the spathe to allow harvest of the pollen. This is compilation of my daily photos to allow better viewing of the plant’s changes. It can also be seen on the outside of the blossom’s spathe and its sheaths. The flower is the sexually reproductive part of the plant. The corm is a swollen underground plant stem where the plant stores its energy. Both kinds of seeds have the beginnings of a root system as well. This titan-arum is 12 years old. The sepals protect the bud before it opens. The pod at the bottom left of the bloom is the dormant stage. Your email address will not be published. It smells like death. Inside the bud, a tiny but complete flower forms. The real flowers are hidden at the bottom of the spadix and the reason for the famous smell of the corpse flower. Seeds are spread in many ways. The pollinators enter the vase like structure looking for flesh to eat, and surprise, they were tricked by the plant. He's attaching temperature sensors, because the plant heats itself to further spread and activate its odor. Once the pollen is trapped it travels down the style to the rounded part at the end, called the ovary, where eggs are waiting to be fertilized. In May 1937, a flower bud appeared. The corpse flower does not bloom on a regular cycle. A magnificent obsession and beautifully done. We use cookies to enhance your experience on our sites. Lots and lots more photos can be seen on my daily posts: July 11, July 12, July 13, July 14, July 15, July 16, July 17, July 18, July 19, July 20, July 21, July 22 (peak bloom), July 23, July 24, and July 25. Wind b